a book blog about reading all of astrid lindgren's books

Astrid_BBHGBrenda Brave Helps Grandmother was published in 1958 as Kajsa Kavat Hjalper Mormor.  Pictures are by Ilon Wikland and it was “adapted from the original” by Kay Ware and Lucille Sutherland . . . I’m gonna guess they were the translators?  Hard to say for certain.  The book I have is from 1961 and translators are often not listed from that era.

This is a Christmas story of the time when Grandmother got hurt just before Christmas and Brenda had to take over.  Brenda does the cooking, cleaning, decorating, and selling of treats all by herself.

It’s one of Lindgren’s shortest works.  It’s not particularly witty or a must-read.  It’s just a short, simple book about a girl who isn’t a total bum.  For some totally inexplicable reason, there is a movie about Brenda Brave.  How this book can be made into a DVD stocked by my library system but no one in America knows Bill Bergson or Emil is beyond me.  The movie looks awful; I have requested it be sent to my library.

 

 

Comments on: "Brenda Brave Helps Grandmother" (1)

  1. […] first story, Kajsa Kavat, was translated into English as Brenda Brave.  It was fun to see the prayer that Kajsa says and see how it rhymes in Swedish.  I don’t […]

    Like

Leave a comment